The World Citizenship Award, facilitated by the Hamilton Mundialization Committee on behalf of city council, honours Hamilton residents who have made significant contributions toward Hamilton’s world citizenship by promoting the values and core principles of mundialization and through work for world peace either locally or globally.

For the past years, on nearly an annual basis, the Hamilton Mundialization Committee has presented the World Citizenship Award to an individual who has contributed significantly to the promotion of peace and understanding at the local, national and international level. The winner is determined from nominations submitted by you, as an individual, or as a member of a group in Hamilton.

Previous winners of the award include:

Tony DiSilvestro – 2004
Morteza Jafarpour – 2003
Gary and Joy Warner – 2002
Lt.-Gen. (Ret.) Rom­éo Dallaire – 2001
Alan F. Phillips – 1998
Joanna Santa-Barbara – 1996
Graeme MacQueen and Paul Dekar – 1994
Sister Helen Kobelsky – 1992
Leonor Sorger – 1991
Agdhas Javid – 1990
Sheila Davis – 1989
Hanna and Allan Newcombe – 1988

The ceremony is hosted by the Hamilton Mundialization Committee, a council-mandated advisory committee of the City of Hamilton whose function, fundamentally, is to facilitate and support peace initiatives and the twinning relationships between Hamilton and its nine twin-cities around the world. Our commitment is based on the belief in the interdependence of people around the world, and that future peace and progress are dependent on co-operation, goodwill and understanding. The Mundialization Committee is a member of the Roundtable on Strengthening Hamilton’s Community Initiatives.

World Citizenship Awards 2012
Photos from World Citizenship award May 8, 2012 by Janice Lukas.

World Citizenship Award 2005

World Citizenship Award  2005 by Sergey Pavlov

World Citizenship Award 2004

World Citizenship Award 2004 by Sergey Pavlov

Joy and Gary Warner
Joy and Gary Warner on World Citizenship Award 2002

World Citizenship Award 2002