2014 World Citizenship Awards – Youth Category new this year

posted in: What's New | 0

World Citizenship Award.  Nominations now open

Deadline: Friday, September 19, 4 p.m.

The World Citizenship Award honours Hamiltonians who have made significant contributions towards world peace locally or globally.  The award is a bronze medallion designed by the renowned artist Elizabeth Holbrook, mounted on a plaque for presentation at an awards reception hosted by the Hamilton Mundialization Committee.

New for this year: “youth” category
Award will be presented at City Hall in October 8, 2014 (tentative date) Guidelines for the World Citizenship Award Nomination

  1. The candidate should be a resident of the City of Hamilton.
  2. The candidate must consent to the nomination. Signature of nominee must be obtained.
  3. Current members of the executive of the Hamilton Mundialization Committee are not eligible.
  4. A photograph (5″ x 7″) of the nominee is to be enclosed with the package.
  5. The following information should be included:
    • A one-page introduction outlining the nominee’s background, experience and community involvement · Description of the significant contributions the nominee has made towards Mundialization, International Understanding and World Citizenship · How many years and under what circumstances has the nominee been involved in these efforts?
    • What are the impacts and results achieved due to the contributions made by the nominee?
    • Testimonials, letters of reference, copies of awards and certificates.
    • Photocopies are acceptable.
  6. All materials submitted for nomination remain as property of the Hamilton Mundialization Committee unless special arrangement has been made prior to submission.

Youth Category: 30 and under please indicate that on applications.  Obtain

WCA-2014-nomination-form – PDF doc 325KB
WCA-2014-ad – PDF doc 231KB

  • Customer Service, Access & Equity, Hamilton City Hall, 71 Main St. W. L8P 4Y5

Previous winners of the award include:

Tony DiSilvestro – 2004
Morteza Jafarpour – 2003
Gary and Joy Warner – 2002
Lt.-Gen. (Ret.) Rom­éo Dallaire – 2001
Alan F. Phillips – 1998
Joanna Santa-Barbara – 1996
Graeme MacQueen and Paul Dekar – 1994
Sister Helen Kobelsky – 1992
Leonor Sorger – 1991
Agdhas Javid – 1990
Sheila Davis – 1989
Hanna and Allan Newcombe – 1988


Photography contest – Winter 2015 start taking entries in the Fall of 2014

*Looking for new members for the Mundalization Committee

For further information, please contact: Rein Ende, Chair, Hamilton Mundialization Committee,
905-523-7875, or by e-mail: rende@cogeco.ca